This is a semi-official “call to arms” issued to all my fellow Bloggers. While visiting Six Degrees of Blondness, I was introduced to the tragic story of Haleigh Poutre, an 11-year-old Massachusetts girl. Haleigh is currently hospitalized, in a coma, which is the result of a severe beating with a baseball bat at the hands of her adoptive mother. The Massachusetts Department of Social Services had responded to SEVENTEEN reports of abuse, yet did not see fit to remove this child from the home. Then, to make matters worse, they last week petitioned for, and won, court-ordered authority to remove Haleigh’s feeding tube [Michelle Malkin]

After reading about this, I did a Google search on Haleigh’s name: I came up with two, that’s T-W-O, results. Clearly, somebody somewhere is trying to keep this quiet.

I call on my fellow bloggers to get this story out, and get some answers for Haleigh. It may be too late to save her, but it’s not too late to make sure it doesn’t happen again.