grammarpolice.jpg

Everybody knows one of those annoying people who goes around correcting others' grammar. I confess: I am one of those people. I can't help myself. I do my best to refrain from correcting my elders, my professional superiors (in other words, my boss), and perfect strangers; however, my family, friends and colleagues are fair game. I've been at it for years, and it's not likely that I'll stop any time soon.
Imagine my joy at reading a recent article in The Raleigh News and Observer (taken from The Sacramento Bee) titled Grammar Acquires Glamour. Especially comforting to me was the correct spelling of glamour in the article's title. (Many words, such as honor, vapor, and labor, are usually spelled with an -or ending in American English but with an -our ending in British English. The preferred spelling of glamour, however, is -our, making it an exception to the usual American practice. The adjective is more often spelled glamorous in both American and British usage. [Dictionary.com])

The article states:

There is evidence of a growing respect for language and a resurgence in appreciation for grammar, even grammar books.

…[Rozakis]believes it is part of a societal shift.

"I think there's going to be a return to more formal styles of dressing … and we're moving away from sloppy grammar," she says. "There's more of a return to traditional values."

The cause? The tightened economy and increased competition in the workplace, she says.

"You whiten your teeth, you get laser surgery on your eyes, and you learn how to speak and you learn how to write," she says.

I feel vindicated now for all the times I embarrassed my children during their "formative years" by correcting their grammar in front of their friends. I was just helping them land a decent job in a tight economy. That, and sloppy grammar grates on my ears like fingernails on a blackboard.

My pet peeve: Gramatically incorrect advertising, either in print, on the radio, or on television. These people write for a living. They ought to know better.