Lake Wheeler Road 6-14-06Thanks to reader Jeffro for the title of this post … it's perfect.

I finally got my home computer back up and running this morning. I'm running a full virus scan while I'm typing this, which slows things down, but I think it's a good idea.
I have been completely “offline” since Monday afternoon. I was really feeling sick, lightheaded, cold sweats, and so tired I could (literally) barely keep my eyes open. I left work early and went to the doc-in-a-box. After a bunch of questions he asked if I'd had any tick bites, and I told him about a one few weeks ago. He did a blood test, and I have Lyme Disease. I spent Tuesday and Wednesday at home starting a 21-day course of antibiotics and sleeping the clock around. I really do feel much better now.

I went back to work Thursday morning, only to learn that on Wednesday, thanks to (the remains of) Tropical Storm Alberto, the building where I work was flooded to the tune of 2-1/2 feet of water throughout. Our server was submerged. We managed to save the computers, but have had no internet service. We got one computer up and running Friday morning, and are taking turns checking our e-mail for backlog and getting in a few minutes surfing. It's going to be a long, slow recovery.

The bottom two drawers of all (37) file cabinets were filled with water. All carpeting and some floor tile had to be removed. The sheetrock and insulation will all have to be replaced. Inventory (parts, new equipment) was submerged and will have to be discarded.

This is not the first time this has happened. In 1996 when Hurricane Fran came through, a dam broke just upstream and we had over six feet of water in the building. I didn't work there then, but I've seen pictures of computer monitors floating through the shop. In comparison, this is nothing. And this is a huge mess. It's going to take months to get completely back to "normal". Some records and documents are destroyed and can never be recovered.

Anyway, that's what's been going on, and why I've been away so long. It's no Katrina- or Rita-sized disaster, but it's sure put a knot in my little world.