Waaay back on August 4, Jarhead John tagged me with this book meme. Between my mother’s passing (on August 5), starting a new job (same company, new responsibilities), moving my office upstairs, blah, blah, blah, I forgot. But, better late than never, I always say. Anyway, here it is.
One book that changed your life: The Iron Peacock, by Mary Stetson Clarke. This was the first book I ever checked out of a library all by myself. I was in the third grade, and we all went to the library as a class. This is the book that turned me into a reader of books just for the joy of reading. It also gets the credit for my interest in American History, particularly the Colonial/Revolutionary period. Alas, it’s now out of print. I tried to find a copy for my daughter when she was young (before amazon.com and e-bay), but had no luck. Oh well, maybe I’ll have a granddaughter someday, and I can buy it for her.

One book that you’ve read more than once: Just one? Geez, there are so many! I’ll go with The Crystal Cave, by Mary Stewart. It’s the first in a trilogy, and tells the legend of Arthur from Merlin’s point of view. Excellent read!

One book that you would want on a deserted island: I’ve got to go with Jarhead on this one, and say The Stand by Stephen King. For starters, it weighs in at about 12 pounds, so it would take a while to read. And it’s a great story.

One book that made you laugh: The Summer of ’42 by Herman Raucher. The classic coming of age story, set during WWII. The scene where Hermie is in the drugstore trying to nonchalantly purchase his first condom is hilarious. I laughed out loud all through this book. In close second-place is The Boat Who Wouldn’t Float, by Farley Mowat. It takes a true Newfoundlander to poke fun at himself so well.

One book that made you cry: The Notebook, by Nicholas Sparks. Alzheimer’s is such a cruel disease.

One book you wish had been written: Nicotine-Free the Easy Way. There’s got to be someone out there who can tell me how to quit the evil weed once and for all!

One book you wish had never been written: Tough question. I think all books have their place, even those that are dead wrong in what they’re saying. To say that a book should not have been written smacks of censorship, and I have a real problem with that. I guess if an answer is required, I’d have to go with Mein Kampf, or maybe The Koran, because of all the death and destruction they caused. But, you could say the same of the King James Bible, couldn’t you?

One book you are currently reading: Break No Bones, by Kathy Reichs. A novel about a forensic anthropologist who solves murder mysteries in her spare time. I read for entertainment. This is entertaining.

One book you have been meaning to read: The Lord of the Rings, by J.R.R. Tolkein. I consider myself to be well-read, but try as I might I just can’t seem to wade my way through this book. Just not my cup of tea, I guess.
Now I’m supposed to tag five people with this thing. Here goes:

Frank at Putting Out the Fire

The Brent at Ask the Unemployed English Major

Phil at Phillip Blair (Dot) Com

Sandy at Sassy Sistah

Mark at By My Troth