welplex.gifAfter two packs a day for 35 years, I quit. As of Thursday afternoon at 5:30, I am a non-smoker. Well, an ex-smoker.

This time, it’s going to work. I’ve tried all the patches, gums, lozenges, pills, etc. I even went to a hypnotist (that worked for about 5 months). I’ve quit “cold turkey” more times than I can count.

In a last ditch, desperate attempt, I went for the injections. My insurance doesn’t cover them, so I had to cough up (no pun intended) the $467 out of my pocket. I see that money as additional motivation to make it work. My family and coworkers are behind me on this. My sister even bought me a plaque to hang at the door that says “THIS IS A SMOKE-FREE HOUSE”. Pretty cool, huh?

So far, so good. I’ve had a few thoughts of “gee, a smoke would be good”, but they’ve passed quickly.

If any of you are interested in the injections, you can read about them at www.quitatlast.com.  They have clinics around the country,  so there’ s likely one near you.