You know who I mean. That crazy old lady who lives all alone in the house up on the hill? The one with all the cats?

That would be me.

I finally broke down yesterday and bought myself a digital camera. I’m not much of a photographer (but I plan to get lots of practice). I took some pictures of the family yesterday, and I thought I’d share them with you.

This post is dedicated to Miss Sassy Poodle, who seems to think that all we cat-lovers ever blog about is our cats.

So here, with out further ado, is the family, starting with the eldest and working chronologically.

Dusty

dusty_cr.jpg

Age: 14 years

Gender: Female

Nicknames: Dustball, Chowderhead

Origin: Adopted from the Buncome County Animal Shelter in 1993

There’s nothing wrong with her eye – I told you I’m not much a photographer. Maybe with practice.

Oreo

oreo_cr.jpg

Age: 7 years

Gender: Male

Nicknames: Big Guy

Origin: A gift to my daughter from a former boyfriend.

We had a deal when he moved in with me: He wouldn’t claw my furniture or pee in my shoes, and I wouldn’t have him declawed and neutered. He didn’t live up to his end of the deal, so I lived up to mine.

Merlin

merlin.jpg

Age: 3 years

Gender: Male

Nicknames: Parrot, The Instigator

Origin: A gift to me from my daughter

We call him “Parrot” because he likes to sit on my shoulder. We call him The Instigator because he enjoys tormenting the other cats, especially Dixie.

Dixie

dixie_cr.jpg

Age: About 3 years

Gender: Female

Nicknames: Bitch, Her Royal Highass

Origin: A stray that showed up at my workplace, hungry and pregnant. She wormed her way into my heart and I took her in.

Dixie is a sweet cat, unless you happen to be Merlin. She resents his existence, and will hiss at him if he so much as enters the room she’s in. I’ve never figured it out, but he enjoys messing with her. They’re like siblings in that respect — you can almost hear him saying “I’m not touching you”.

That’s the family. I hope Miss Sassy Poodle will allow me to post about them once in a while without getting her dander up too badly.