Hammer has invited all to participate in the Favorite Toys Meme. The mission–go out on the web and find pictures of your five favorite toys from when you were growing up. Post them and tag five more people to continue the game. These will bring back memories…

 

erector3.jpg

5. Erector set: I inherited my dad’s (that’s how long these have been around – Dad would have turned 70 last week). I spent hours and hours building windmills and ferris wheels. It even came with an electric motor so that stuff would actually move.

 

barbie-dream-house.JPG

4. Barbie’s Dream House: I had pretty much everything Barbie(TM). The house, the car, the airplane, even her friends (Ken, Midge, Allan and her little sister, whose name escapes me). Barbie rocks!

 

rockem-sockem-robots-game.jpg

 

3. Rock’Em Sock’Em Robots: I didn’t own this game, but my next-door neighbor did. We played it all the time. I used to enjoy “knocking his block off”.

hands-down.jpg

2. Hands Down! This was my favorite game. You had to have at least 3 players for it to be any fun – four was even better. Great rainy-day entertainment for the 7 – 10 year old set.

pompom.jpg

1. Figure Skates: These were my prized posession. They were white, with big yarn pom-poms. Actually, I went thru about a pair a year, mostly due to growth. I made new pom-poms every year – sometimes with jingle bells.  I lived across the street from a small lake that froze over every winter. My favorite time to skate was early on Saturday mornings, before most of the world was awake. I would have the whole lake virtually to myself, and I could practice without anyone around. Geez, I haven’t been ice skating in years. Here in NC, the lakes don’t freeze over like they do in New Jersey. And skating at a rink sucks–too crowded, and all you’re allowed to do is go around in circles.

Honorable Mention:  Lite-Brite, Spirograph, and my microscope.  They don’t make ’em like that any more!

litebrite.gif           spirograph.jpg              mic_pop.jpg
I’m not going to tag anyone, since I tagged folks earlier in the week. But feel free to play along, and leave a comment here if you do so I can check it out!