chickaboom.jpgHave you ever been driving along, listening to the radio, when all of a sudden a song comes on that seems to almost physically transport you back in time to a specific place or event? Of course you have. Music is a very powerful memory trigger.

rapper.jpgListed below are the top ten songs that take me back to my misspent youth. I’ll not go into detail regarding exactly where they take me, lest you discover how misspent my youth actually was. Some things are better left unsaid.

I want to make it clear that this is NOT a list of my favorite songs. They were not necessarily even favorites at the time. They’re songs that, in some cases, seemed to be everywhere. Songs that I couldn’t help hearing, and that for whatever reason take me back.spillthewine.jpg

10. The Pretender – Jackson Browne
9. Here You Come Again – Dolly Parton
8. Penny Lane – The Beatles
7. Chick-A-Boom – Daddy Dewdrop
6. The Rapper – Jaggerz
5. I’m Not in Love – 10cc
mabelleamie.jpg 4. Moondance – Van Morrison
3. Magic – Pilot
2. Ma Belle Amie – The Tee Set
1. Spill the Wine – Eric Burdon and War