readandreleaseanimated75.gifIf you’re like me (and I know many of you are), you have some inborn quality that will never allow you to throw away a book. That makes life difficult sometimes, because I’ve accumulated so many books over the years … all of which take up storage space that I don’t really have. And it makes moving a nightmare!

Every now and then I’ll gather a bunch together and take them to the local used book store and/or the library, but these places are actually choosy about what they’ll take! To me, there’s no such thing as a “bad book”.

Anyway, I told you that to tell you this: I’ve found a new website, called BookCrossing.com. It’s a book-recycling program. Absolutely free. Gratis. No charge.  Members (who can remain anonymous) register books and receive a BCID (BookCrossing ID), then leave the books they’ve read where others can find them – on a park bench, in the waiting room at the doctor’s office, in a hotel room. Inside the book is a bookmark or printed label telling them that the book is free, was left on purpose, and that when they finish it, they should pass it on. The website has labels and bookmarks available to download and print, or you can buy them from their store, or you can just hand-write a message inside the front cover. The folks who find it are encouraged to read it, visit the website, and log the book in by it’s number so it can be tracked in it’s journey. Now I have a way to pass along all these books!