…and there’s bad news.

The Good News is that there’s nothing wrong with my heart. I’ve had everything checked now, from stem to stern, including the valves, muscles, chambers, walls between chambers, incoming and outgoing veins and arteries. I’ve had an electrocardiogram, an echocardiogram, a nuclear echocardiogram, and a stress test. My heart has been listened to and photographed from every available angle. It’s fine. In perfect running order. No problems observed. I’m shocked quite frankly, after smoking for 35+ years and being overweight, with high cholesterol, that my heart was able to get such a clean bill of health. But there you have it.

The Bad News, on the other hand, is that I still don’t know why my left leg is twice the size of my right leg. As you can see in the photo, they’re both swollen with extra fluid, but the left is so much more pronounced than the right that it’s beginning to look freakish. Not only do my legs not match, even my shoelaces are mis-matched. I may have to resort to long pants, which in NC in the summertime is not a happy option.

I’m starting to believe that I’m being tested for stuff that the doctors already know is okay, because they know I have good insurance. That may sound cynical to some of you, but this has been going on now for almost 3 months. Enough, already.