A local classic rock station here in Raleigh (WRVA 100.7 “The River”) is advertising a promotion called “What’s Your Perfect Album Side?”.  Listeners are being asked to make up a list of 6 – 8 songs (classic rock format) that would be on their perfect album.  Random submitters are being asked to come to the studio and deejay a 30 minute spot around their songs, to be played in the early-Sunday-morning time slot.

I have no desire whatsoever to play deejay.  But it did get me thinking about my “Perfect Album Side”.  Look below to see what I’ve come up with:

To start off, let’s set the mood at mellow with Rob Thomas and Carlos Santana doing Smooth:

Since we’re on the “smooth” track, we can follow that with Alannah Myles‘s tribute to Elvis Presley, Black Velvet.

A tribute to The King needs to be followed up with the man himself.  Here he is doing my favorite Elvis Presley tune ever: Can’t Help Falling in Love.

Rocketing forward in time, and back to my home state of New Jersey, I get goosebumps whenever I hear The Boss (that’s Bruce Springsteen to my non-Jersey readers) sing I’m On Fire.

Staying in the same era, we have Journey singing their silky classic, Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin.

After listening to that, I believe that Steve Perry from Journey would agree with Billy Preston: Ain’t No Sunshine (When She’s Gone).

Finally, an acknowledgment that these are the songs of my youth, which is long-since past (thank heaven!).  Bob Seeger & the Silver Bullet Band said it best, with Like a Rock.

Well, there it is.  My “perfect album side”  Since all these songs fit the description, let’s take the title from the first cut, and call it SMOOTH.

A call to all you bloggers out there – what would be on your perfect album?  Blog it, and let me know!  For my readers who don’t blog (there are a couple), put yours in the comments.