Mrs. du Toit has written a thought-provoking article about dieting that anyone who struggles with weight issues should take the time to read.  What an eye-opener!

I was always on a diet or just recovering from one. I lost 60 pounds on Weight Watchers and then gained 90 pounds in three months, when I went off of it. That was the typical and usual result: lose a certain amount of weight, plateau and get frustrated, and then gain back 150% of what I’d lost in the few months after the diet.

The doctor explained that my results were typical. He went on to explain that no diet worked for the morbidly obese (at the time that meant someone who was 100 pounds or more overweight). If we measure the success of a diet in longer terms, such as ten years, the success rate was 0%; meaning, that in ten years, no one was able to keep the weight off.

Mrs. du Toit Weblog.