There have been at two ‘Old Hippies’ that have had impact on my life.  The first, and certainly the most influential, was my first husband.  Born in 1950, he served in the Navy from 1968 – 1972; he married me (his first and only wife) in 1979; his first child was born in 1981 and his second in 1984.  He didn’t make it to Woodstock, but he was at a Grateful Dead concert when it was announced that Nixon had resigned.  He despised disco, and switched over to country music in rebellion.  When this song was released in 1985, he was 35 years old.  He succumbed to cancer in 1994, at the age of 44.  Every time I hear this song, I wonder if the Bellamy Brothers had actually met Murph.

In 1995, the Bellamy Brothers released a sequel to Old Hippie, called (in a fit of originality) Old Hippie-The Sequel.  This is the version that brings to mind the other Old Hippie in my life, my former boss, who passed away in 2003 at the age of 47.  I still work for his partner and younger brother.  This one is for Rick, who never really was comfortable with computers, fax machines and cell phones.

I had high hopes of another sequel in 2005, but it didn’t happen.  I shudder to think how Murph and Rick would have handled life in 2008.