In today’s “Today in History” post, Mostly Cajun linked to a Steve Martin video from 1979; it’s a live recording of his infamous King Tut routine.

For reasons I can’t entirely explain, even to myself, this video reminded me of a scene from the 1993 movie Benny & Joon, starring Johnny Depp, Mary Stuart Masterson, Aidan Quinn and Julianne Moore.  This movie was not a huge box-office hit; it does showcase Depp’s talent for physical comedy, and it remains one of my favorites.  In the scene that comes to mind, Depp, Masterson and Quinn are in a diner where Moore works as a waitress.   Watch and see if you can explain to me the direction my brain was moving when it made this tenuous connection.

Just to round things off, here’s the movie’s theme song, “I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” by The Proclaimers, set to scenes from the movie.