burglar_windowI wish this was a commentary on what’s being done to the taxpayers, but this time it’s not.

Someone broke into my house yesterday while I was at work.  He came in through my kitchen window (I found the storm windows on the kitchen floor – I still haven’t found the screen), tracked mud through my kitchen (it’s been raining here), walked through every room in my house, leaving doors open that I always keep closed to keep my cats out and/or avoid heating unused rooms, rifled through all my dresser drawers, my jewelry box, and my closet.  As far as I’ve been able to tell, all that was taken was jewelry.  He seemed to know the difference between ‘good’ jewelry and ‘costume’ jewelry’.  All the costume stuff was left behind, but my good jewelry is all gone.  He dumped my makeup bag out on my bed and used the empty bag to haul his loot in.  He also took my fireproof strongbox that all my personal papers – like my car title, land deed, mine and my kids birth certificates, and my divorce decree – were in.

The jewelry was mostly stuff that my Mom left me when she passed away 2-1/2 years ago, some that my daughter or my sister bought for me over the years, and a silver bracelet that my dad gave me for my 16th birthday.  It no doubt had more sentimental than cash value, and that’s why I’m pissed.

The Lee County Sheriff’s Deputy that came out to take a report was very thorough; he really tried to get fingerprints off the window and the furniture, but the SOB who broke in was clearly wearing gloves.  He did take pictures of the bootprints on the kitchen floor, and a couple in the mud outside the house.  He seemed very certain that the guy was on foot, which would explain why things like the computer, TV’s, etc. were left behind.  My concern is that he took inventory, and he’ll be back with a vehicle and some of his less-than-savory friends to get the stuff that was too big to carry on foot.

My sister wants me to fence in the yard and get a big dog.   I just want my stuff back.  I never bothered to insure it specifically, so I don’t know if my homeowner’s insurance will cover it.  I guess I’ll give them a call today.  How do you put a value on family jewelry?