I’ve been ‘on hiatus’ for almost a year, and I’ve decided to give this whole bloggy thing another shot.  I’ve been inspired and encouraged by a few other bloggers to go for it.

I thought it best to start with a new theme and tagline, and an update of the Blogroll.  It’s my goal to be less political than I have in the past (there are so many really good political blogs that I feel I can’t really offer anything new/better than what’s already out there).  I’m just going to blog about the day-to-day adventures of being me.  There will be pictures.  I will strive not to bore you all with too many pictures of my grandson.

Which brings us to what’s been going on for the past year (in chronological order):

My daughter and her husband have both been discharged from the Army, and they’ve bought a house in San Antonio, TX.  Yes, that’s 900+ miles away.  This is the price you pay for raising independent kids.

My son has had a premature mid-life crisis (he’s 28).  Last November, he quit his job, left his wife, packed his stuff into a U-Haul, and moved to New Hampshire to join the Free State Project.  Yes, that’s 900+ miles away.  See above.  He blogs at Destroy the Ring, and writes an occasional column for The New Hampshire Free Press.

My daughter and her husband presented me with a perfect grandson in January.  His name is Ian, he was five months old yesterday, and he lives in fricken San Antonio.  Yes, that’s 900+ miles away.

I’m now truly an empty nester, my closest offspring being 900+ miles away.  If I can ever get myself motivated to paint the inside of my house, I plan to put it on the market and get an apartment closer to work.  The 40+ mile commute, each way, is getting very, very old.

Please leave a comment and let me know what you’ve been up to!