In keeping with tradition here at MG2, I thought a Sunday Top Ten list would be appropriate.  Just to mix it up a little bit, it’s actually two Sunday Top Five Lists.  Ain’t no difference in no pigeon and no bird (as Coach P was fond of saying).

Top Five Foods I Won’t Eat That Everyone Else Loves

5.  Cilantro.  I read somewhere that this is genetic, and that people who don’t like cilantro think it tastes like soap.  That would be me.  I find even the tiniest little bit of cilantro completely overpowers, and in my opinion ruins, any dish to which it’s been added.

4.  Mango.  Tastes like pine sap.

3.  Watermelon.  Oddly enough, I do like things that are artificially watermelon flavored, like Jolly Rancher candies.  Weird, I know.  Deal with it.

2.  Ranch Dressing.  Just eww.  Blue Cheese for me, whether on a salad or for dipping.  I know people who put Ranch Dressing on Buffalo wings.  That’s just wrong.

1.  Cucumbers.  I do believe that if offered the choice between eating cucumbers or starving, I’d choose to starve.  Most of the time, if I don’t like something I’ll just pick it out, but with cucumbers, even that won’t work.  They leave an after-smell on everything they’ve touched.  I think the main reason I don’t like watermelon is because it smells like cucumbers.

Top Five Foods I Love That Everyone Else Thinks are Gross

5. Beef tongue.  The first time I ever had tongue, I thought I was eating corned beef.  Boiled and sliced on a sandwich, you really can’t tell the difference.  And the price – way lower than corned beef.  Mind over matter people.

4. Liver and onions.  Calves liver, please.  With gravy and French fries.  This is about the only time I think about putting gravy on my fries.

3. Eggplant.  Especially eggplant Parmesan, but even just breaded and fried, dipped in marinara sauce.  Good stuff!

2. Rutabagas.  Mom always called them turnips, but she was wrong.  Two completely different vegetables.  Boiled, mashed with butter and lots and lots of black pepper.  It’s just not Thanksgiving dinner without mashed rutabagas.

1.  Pickled Herring with Sour Cream and Onions.  This is a family thing.  Mom loved it, Sis and I love it.  Robyn’s kids love it.  My kids wouldn’t touch it with a ten-foot pole.  Actually, I don’t think they’d touch it with somebody else’s ten-foot pole.