I almost forgot to do a Top Ten list today.  I’m not really ‘back in the habit’ of blogging.  Lucky I remembered, or all my hordes of fans (all three of you!) would have been devastated.

Since most of today has been dedicated to housework, I’ve chosen my least favorite chores for today’s list.  Since I’m an empty-nester, I do both the inside and outside chores around here.  Therefore, both are eligible for the list.  I’ve not included home improvement chores like painting.

  1. Rolling up the garden hose.  I have no problem with watering the garden, but I despise rolling up the hose when I’m done.  It’s always wet and muddy and I can’t seem to get the job done without getting mud on my clothes, or my legs if I’m wearing shorts.
  2. Dusting.  I make it a point to not have a lot of bric-a-brac crap around the house, because it’s just something else that needs to be dusted.  My mother was the QUEEN of bric-a-brac.  Every flat surface in her house had some cutesy/hokey ornament on it.  Dusting took her all day.  As for me, you could easily write your name in the dust on most of the flat surfaces in my house.  Just please don’t date it.
  3. Cleaning the ceiling fans.  This goes right along with dusting.  I have ceiling fans in the living room and my bedroom.  They collect dust and cat hair, and it’s impossible to clean them without getting the mess all over the floor/bed/couch.
  4. Cleaning the refrigerator.  I habitually save leftovers, even when there’s only a tiny bit left, telling myself that I’ll use it in soup or take it for lunch or something.  But I never do.  So when the time comes to clean out the fridge, there’s no telling what I might find, and in what state I might find it.  Sometimes, I’ll just toss the container and all.  And will someone please, please tell me how the cat hair gets into the fridge?  Are they cruising in there when I’m not home, looking for bounty?
  5. Cleaning the bathtub.  I have a garden tub and a stall shower in my bathroom.  I use the shower daily.  I almost NEVER use the tub.  I noticed the other day that there were  actual COBWEBS in there.  So today when I vacuumed, I just vacuumed out the tub, too.  Cobwebs and dust.  And a dead spider.
  6. Folding sheets.  I’m not fond of folding ANY of the laundry, but I particularly dislike folding sheets.  Especially the fitted ones – there’s no way those suckers are going to come out anything resembling square.  An irregular polyhedron is the best I can do.  I’ve learned to wash them, dry them, and put them back on the bed.  I do this till they’re worn out, then I buy a new set.
  7. Collecting the trash.  From the bathrooms.  And the bedrooms.  And the den.  And the kitchen.  The laundry room.  Getting it all together, bagged up, and out to the car to take to the ‘convenience center’.  Generally, I can get a week’s worth of garbage into one of those big black bags, which is why I don’t pay $20 a month for once a week pick up.  Then I have to haul it all the way to the curb, in their special cans that they can lift with the lifter thingy on the truck, and then haul the empty can all the way back up to the house.  Keep in mind that my driveway is about a quarter mile long.  PITA.  It’s ever so much easier to only have to take it to the car, then toss it in the compactor when I get to the center.
  8. Emptying the dishwasher.  I hate this job so much that, since my son moved out in November, I haven’t even USED my dishwasher.  It’s easier to just rinse up my couple of dishes by hand, put them in the drainboard to dry, and then use them again the next time I eat.
  9. Cleaning the litter box.  No explanation needed.  I had to have my oldest cat put to sleep last month.  The other two don’t use a litter box – they prefer to go outside to do their business.  So, the litter box has been officially retired.  Good riddance.
  10. Putting away the clean laundry.  I swear, I live off the top of my dresser.  I’ll wash it, dry it, fold it, and carry it into the bedroom.  From there, it gets piled onto the dresser and seldom, if ever, sees the inside of a drawer.  I have no excuse or explanation.  Just a bad habit I got into years ago, and have never been sufficiently motivated to break.

That’s it.  The ten things I’m most likely to not do if I can see a way out of it.