Jeffro over at The Poor Farm has done me the honor of nominating me for a ‘Superior Scribbler’ award.  Looking at the others he’s nominated, and having seen a few nominees on my own, I’m humbled by my competition.

In keeping with The Rules of Superior Scribbling, I now have a duty to nominate five of my favorites.  The blogging community being what it is, and all of us reading each other’s blogs all the time, I’ll do my best to nominate five folks who haven’t already been nominated.

First of all, we have Abby at Bad Dogs & Such.  She describes herself as “a dog-petting, gun-toting, tree-hugging, history-reading, bird-watching, Jeep-driving yahoo of the first degree”, which is pretty good, if incomplete.  She’s also a Marine, who just arrived (this week) for her second (or is it third?) tour in the sandbox.

Second, I present to you my friend and co-worker, Frank from Putting Out the Fire.  Frank started blogging shortly after I did, because he told me it ‘looked like fun’.  I’m here to tell you, he took the ball and ran with it, and has received several awards for his efforts.

My friend Sandy over at Sassy Sistah has been blogging, on-and-off, for several years.  She’s a plain talker who tells it like she sees it. She describes herself by saying “I AM old, grumpy and bitchy though. And I LIKE IT. You’ll like it too. Or not. I don’t care.” Sandy is great about sharing her recipes, and letting us know what books we need to be reading.

Next, let me point you in the general direction of Compass Points, “The adventures of a retired couple as they travel the USA–or just build live in a new log home, the Aerie, in the north-central PA.” If you want the latest news on college football, bird watching, or want to pick up some home canning tips, this is the place to go.

Finally, I’d like to nominate Pastor Geek, an immigrant computer programmer who moonlights as a Pentecostal pastor.  He was on my blogroll under another name for a long time, then he moved and we’ve just recently reconnected.

That’s my fave five, folks.  Per the rules, below are the rules.

  • Each Superior Scribbler must in turn pass The Award on to 5 most-deserving Bloggy Friends.
  • Each Superior Scribbler must link to the author & the name of the blog from whom he/she has received The Award.
  • Each Superior Scribbler must display The Award on his/her blog, and link to This Post, which explains The Award.
  • Each Blogger who wins The Superior Scribbler Award must visit this post and add his/her name to the Mr. Linky List. That way, we’ll be able to keep up-to-date on everyone who receives This Prestigious Honor!
  • Each Superior Scribbler must post these rules on his/her blog.